Friday, July 30, 2010

Day 5 - Cycle 1

Whew, number 5, last day for the first cycle! (11 more cycles to go) I had trouble falling asleep last night but still feel fine. I'm not crazy about having the IV in my arm. I think this is what kept me up last night. I am so aware of it and it hurts a tiny bit - enough to remind me it is there. Did I mention that Tabby had a friend sleep over? They were up late too, but they weren't keeping me up. My Aunt Kay is taking them to Disney today. They'll have a blast.

I have been waiting for today to talk about the thing you all are thinking but not saying..."I still have my hair!" By the way, I haven't cut it since my MRI in January because I didn't know what would happen to it. Once I knew I would be starting Chemo, I thought about having it cut to make a wig out of it, then I thought about donating it. I even called my hair dresser about it. But in the end, I chickened out and thought I would keep it as long as I could. (selfish - I know) I have to admit, I am starting to feel like the odd ball at MD Anderson because I have more hair than anyone I have seen there. Maybe I should take my friend Jennifer's advice and get a skull cap or just put it up in a hat so I fit in better. Don't think for a second that I think it will look this good all year...I don't. Even if I don't lose it, it is bound to thin out and lose its luster. So, in the mean time I am making the best of it and appreciating every last minute I have with it. I am also planning ahead if I do lose it, I have been eying a couple of headdresses I would like. What do you think?

Well, I guess it is all routine now. Nothing to different or surprising happened today. We were on the 5th floor in the 4 person suite with a nurse that graduated from Winter Park High in 2001 (where I now teach). She's real cute. We also had a couple of breast cancer patients that were upbeat, real friendly and we shared our stories with each other. I like to watch peoples' faces when I tell them I have something eating my brain. OK, I don't say it that way but, from the look on their faces, you would think that is what I said.
OK, I have to admit it, I feel a little icky today. I don't know exactly how to describe it but I am not feeling as good as I have the past four days. I am all for taking it easy this weekend. I am sure I will be better soon. Don't worry, I am still holding in my lunch, I don't feel that bad. Today, I thought I would take the picture at the end of my treatment so I have a true BEFORE and AFTER shot. This week is over, YEA, I did it!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Followers

Blog Archive